My most anticipated horror movies of 2017

 

Whether it’s for the cast or the director, the making-process or the story, as per usual, also in 2017 I have a few titles I’m really looking forward to seeing. You might find your most anticipated horror films on this list, you might not. In fact, this is based on my personal opinion and I hope we can still be friends even if you don’t agree with me. Cheers!

 

World War Z 2 (?) – First of all, I didn’t like the first movie and I wouldn’t be excited to see the sequel, unless the rumours claiming David Fincher to be directing it turn out to be real. For the uncertainty surrounding the direction of this movie, I decided to play it safe and not to put it in the list. Let’s see what happens.

 

insidious-chapter-4-watch-free-online-full-hd-movie-download10. Insidious: Chapter 4 (October 20, 2017 (2017-10-20)) – Despite considering the first instalment of the franchise as one of the best cliché horror flick in the 2000s, the fact that James Wan is not directing the fourth chapter makes me a bit sceptical. I still hope that Adam Robitel won’t ruin this good franchise.

 

9. The Girl with All the Gifts (20 January, 2017) – it’s the latest 28 Days Later sort of deal. In addition, this British movie tells the story of a young girl living in a post-apocalyptic world who, despite having a normal appearance, has a disease which turns her into a crazy human-eating machine. A horror-zombie background, combined with a coming-of-age story and a drama. I’m really curious to see what direction it takes. girl-with-the-gifts

 

cure-for-wellness-18. A cure for wellness (February 17, 2017) – directed by Gregor Verbinski (I don’t know if it’s a good sign) and starring talented actors such as Dane DeHaan, Mia Goth and Jason Isaacs, the film’s synopsis looks incredibly interesting and, if the concept is handled well, we might end up dealing with a great claustrophobic and realistic horror movie.

 

saw-jigsaw7. Saw: Legacy (November, 2017?) – let’s get it straight: I loved the first Saw movie as much as I hated all the cash-grabbing, nothingness-filled sequels. What makes me want to watch the 7th instalment of the franchise, then? It’s directed by the Aussie Spierig brothers, who brought on screen Daybreakers (one of my all-time favourite horror films), Undead (a brilliant post-apocalyptic horror comedy about zombies) and the amazing, mesmerising Predestination. If someone can revitalise this tiresome franchise, it’s Michael and Peter Spierig.

 

la-et-hc-get-out-horror-peele-20161004-snap6. Get Out (February 24, 2017) – a small modern town where black people passing by go missing, Jordan Peele – the comedian – at his debut as director and a mysterious, creepy trailer. Yes, I’m excited to see if something good follows up the interesting premises.

 

split-1.gif5. Split (January 20, 2017) – the great M. Night Shyamalan’s comeback… or maybe not? To be honest, I’ve seen this movie already (review coming soon) and… well, it’s directed by M. Night; it stars James McAvoy as the psycho with 23 personalities within his mind and Anya Taylor-Joy from The Witch who, hands down, is the greatest young actress working today alongside with Maika Monroe (It Follows); it features Mike Gioulakis from It Follows as the director of photography. Do you need any further reason to watch Split?

 

it-movie-poster4. It (September 8, 2017 (2017-09-08)) – I am both excited and scared about this movie. The reboot of one of the greatest horror films ever made is doomed to be either a great motion picture or a total failure. Will Pennywise be back?

 

3. God Particle (October 27, 2017) – it’s the third instalment in the Cloverfield franchise. I loved the first found-footage movie, I loved even more 10 Cloverfield Lane. Apparently, the plot revolves around a team of astronauts aboard a space station who find themselves alone after a scientific experiment causes Earth to disappear. Sounds promising? I already have goosebumps thinking about the pattern this story could take.  

god-particle-2017-hd-movie

god-particle-2017-hd-movie (2017-05-19)

 

alien-prometheus2. Alien: Covenant (May 19, 2017 (2017-05-19)) – sequel of Prometheus and prequel to the Alien saga, Covenant is a must on a ‘most anticipated movies’ list. To be frank with you guys, I don’t know if it’s going to be an actual horror or a Sci-fi film. Either ways, I’m excited to see what Ridley Scott can accomplish with this movie.

 

And my number one pick is…

 

landscape-1449749280-dark-tower1. The Dark Tower (July 28, 2017) – a Sci-fi western horror film directed and co-written by Nikolaj Arcel, based on the series of novels by Stephen King and starring the one and only Matthew McConaughey, beyond the shadow of a doubt the best actor working today. Oh man, this movie is going to be twisted, weird and blooded. I would like to be in the summer time already to go watch it straight away.

 

Leave a Reply

